Operation ‘avoid the crowds’

With just a week or so to go before Christmas, even this curmudgeon is beginning to look forward to the ‘big day’, as it will mean spending time with family and a well earned few days off.

With this Saturday being the penultimate weekend, the shopping centres will be heaving, not my idea of a fun time but I have slowly but surely amassed my Christmas gifts so that operation ‘avoid the crowds’ can be deemed such a success that I was able to get out for another photo walk along the East Devon coast to Budleigh Salterton.

I had not expected the place to be as quiet as it was, most of those partaking in a sneaky seaside stroll walked without a care, with an aura of ‘yeah, I’m ready for Christmas’!

This Saturday was a day of grey overcast skies, with the occasional rays of light playing peek a boo through rare gaps in the cloud, one had to pay attention to capture these all too fleeting moments.

As I strolled along the beach, I began to think more about what direction this blog may go in the new year.

I had started blogging originally when I decided to shoot an entire year with my Fujifilm X100F, a project I really enjoyed, with a camera that I regrettably sold and is too much money second hand to even contemplate.

A second project with just 50mm over 50 days of photo walks soon followed and more recently most of my posts centre around my collection of old digicams and mirrorless cameras.

What started off as projects have become the norm for me, so I am thinking of starting a series of blogs focusing on those compact cameras that I love using so much, the working title is ‘The compact chronicles’ but I am open to other suggestions.

Alongside the ‘chronicles’ will be more blogs based around a lens that has become a firm favourite, the Panasonic Lumix 20mm F1.7, no working title for this yet but something like ‘twenty twenty vision’ is churning away on the cerebral back burner.

I still have a little time to finalise my ideas for 2024 but lets enjoy what is left of ’23 with a handful of shots from yesterday.

A mixture here from my Lumix LX5 and the Olympus EM10 MK3 with that 20mm.

Leave a comment