Another year … what next?

As we approach the middle of December, my job within the food sector starts to get a little mad, so I thought it may be an idea to reflect on my photographic year and consider what the new year may bring.

Having dipped my feet into the world of older compact cameras in the autumn of 2022, I believed it would be just another diversion on my photographic journey and that I would return to the well trodden path in just a month or two.

I didn’t!

For me, that diversion has become one of my most enjoyable chapters in my photography, as slowly but surely the toe dipping became a fully fledged dive in at the deep end.

There is rarely a trip now where I do not take one of my Lumix LX series or Canon S series compact cameras, with one of my micro four thirds ‘proper’ camera, more recently, I have dared to take just a digicam to challenge myself with supposedly less capable gear.

I use the word challenge but in all honesty it has actually been more like fun, especially when many of the images I have captured with these smaller sensor cameras have become some of my best photos of the year.

Throughout my blogs, I have said how much I love the black and white rendering from these pocket rockets, often now if I see a scene that I want to edit as a monochrome image, I will reach for a digicam.

In terms of 2024, I will continue to shoot a lot of square format photos and perhaps dedicate one of my photographic days purely to one of my digicams, ‘digicam Sunday’ has a certain vibe…

Before posting a few favourite images, I would like to wish all those who have followed my musings throughout this year a very happy Christmas and new year!



2 thoughts on “Another year … what next?”

Leave a comment